DE and Chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by kybeagle, May 28, 2010.

1. kybeagle

kybeagle Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2010
    Since I am a newbie at this, I need a little information. I have 21 chicks that are 3 weeks old and was wondering what age I should start adding DE to their starter; or if I should at all? At this time I am putting 2 teaspoons of ACV in a quart of water and giving them a starter from Purina, that is all that they have had. I've heard that the DE will help in keeping worms out of the chicks or chickens but I don't have any idea when I should start giving it to them.

2. felidaet

felidaet Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 10, 2008
    Vancouver, Wa.
    I have read that some people mix DE with their feed. I never have. I occasionally sprinkle some in the coop on top of the pine shavings and in the nest boxes. In fact I am going to clean out the old straw in the nest boxes tomorrow and put in some fresh straw. I will sprinkle this with DE.

I did not start using DE until the chicks were about 20 weeks old. I have not used it in the new chick coop and probably won't until they are at least 16 - 18 weeks old. I don't know if there is harm in using it around young chicks but I decided not to just to be sure.

Be very careful that you use feed grade DE. If it does not feed grade on the bag then DON't buy it. Much of the DE on the market is pool grade instead of feed grade. The pool grade is very dangerous to the birds and humans. You can find lots of information about it here on BYC.

3. kybeagle

kybeagle Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2010
    Thanks for the reply "felidaet", the DE which I have is food grade and like you, I will probably hold off using it until the chicks are older.

4. Mcfarlinschicks

Mcfarlinschicks New Egg

May 27, 2010
    Tonto Basin, Arizona
    Was reading your posts and im curious, what is DE and what is ACV???? Im very new to this and am wondering if I should be using both of these? [​IMG]