DE Help Please~~~!!!!! Bugs are horrible in the south right now!!!

KayC2016

In the Brooder
Jul 16, 2016
Remlap, Alabama
We had such a mild winter and a wet spring/summer, the bugs are horrible!! Mosquitoes, etc. I am new to chickens and don't want to hurt them!! I have Food Grade DE and was going to sprinkle throughout the run which as of now, is dirt and grass. Will this be okay and if so how much? I have a 25 x 25 run. My girls are itching and I know when I go out I itch and get by every mosquito within a mile. Any advice is much appreciated!!!!

DE does not prevent mosquitos. It's effective for ground/soil dwelling bugs, but it's indiscriminate. It kills both good and bad bugs. The most effective mosquito control is to remove any standing water, so that larva do not develop.

You should inspect each chicken, especially under their wings and vents...look for tiny insects crawling on them...if they are itching and you are too...they may have mites...DE will not treat mites...you would need permethrin/sevin dust to treat the areas and the chickens would need dusting with sevin powder...

Nesting boxes and the coop will need treating...remove and destroy any bedding...far away from the coop and run area.

To look for signs it is better at dusk...the mites can clearly be seen on chickens when they are bedding down for the night...mites tend to hide in cracks and crevices during the day...

Good luck!

Some people choose not to use chemicals to treat...unfortunately DE is not effective in treating infestations but it is helpful as a preventative...