DE not effective on mites?

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Lowe5749, Feb 25, 2013.

1. Lowe5749

Lowe5749 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 20, 2012
    Union South Carolina
    Ok so here's my problem. I am trying to keep my chickens natural no meds ect. I bought a fifty lb bag of DE when i got my chickens and i spread it all over the coop floor (block building with hay on the floor) in the nesting boxes and even mix it in their food( it is food grade) and i do this once every two weeks as i clean out the coop and lay new hay. One of my maran roosters was acting strange so i picked him up to check him out and he has mites under his wings? I heard that DE would kill parasites so im kinda confused on this one am i doing something wrong?

2. DE is good for the chickens to EAT and BATHE in. It is best for ingestion to help with parasites internally. For mites I would get some meds from the feed store. I don't think DE will help once those mites are established.

I am no expert. But at this point DE will not hurt the bathing chicken but I don't think it will get rid of them just by bathing your chicken in the DE.

Hope the best for ya.

3. supermom1185

supermom1185 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 28, 2011
    I would like to know as well. I bought DE to spread around my coops but didn't know if I should put it everywhere or just where they dust bathe?

4. Lowe5749

Sep 20, 2012
    Union South Carolina
    Ok thanks I was told to use seven dust but i really didnt want to. Should i keep spreading the DE in the coop?

5. ChickensRDinos

ChickensRDinos Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 19, 2012
    Los Angeles