De-Worming 1st time

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by CaradineCousins, Mar 27, 2017.

1. CaradineCousins

CaradineCousins Out Of The Brooder

Dec 29, 2015
    Birmingham Alabama
    Hello I am getting ready to de-worm my one year-old flock . I have noticed that a lot of my eggs have poop on them , I am going to use a product called wazine that is safe for turkeys chickens and swine. I am not very good at solving math problems. on the instructions it says per 100 chickens to use 2 fluid ounces, I have 14 hens can someone help me with the formula that I need to use to add to their water.

I had asked the clerk at the co-op if we are able to consume the eggs after the de-worming he said that the bottle states no but he does and had no problem with it so do you think it would be safe to consume the eggs or not.

Thanks for your help
    Sunday

2. casportpony

casportpony Team Tube Feeding Captain & Poop Inspector General Premium Member

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop
    @CaradineCousins , welcome to BYC! Can you have a vet check their poop for worms? Any vet can do it. [​IMG] Or you could send some poop to this place:
    http://www.midamericaagresearch.net/instructions.php

If you decide to worm, just use the 2 ounce per gallon amount, it's well within the safe dosing range. Keep in mind that Wazine (piperazine) only treats large roundworms. FWIW, in Canada and Australia, piperazine has a zero day egg with withdrawal.

Quote: Above from FARAD (Food Animal Residue Avoidance Databank)
    http://www.usfarad.org/drug-wdi-faqs.html

Last edited: Mar 27, 2017
  3. lazy gardener

lazy gardener Chicken Obsessed

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE
    If you believe that your eggs have poop on them b/c the birds have worms, you are mis-informed. They have poop on them b/c you have one or more birds who's cloaca does not properly block off the intestine. http://www.motherrisingbirth.com/2011/08/wisdom-wednesday-chicken-egg-exit.html