1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Dead chicken this morning :(

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by 4kidsandchicks, Feb 7, 2017.

1. 4kidsandchicks

4kidsandchicks New Egg

Feb 7, 2017
    I found one of my hens dead in the yard this morning. (I have a coop with a secure attached yard so I can leave the pop up door open without threat of predator. The coop has a heat lamp so it is warm enough, there was plenty of fid and water.) She looked like she had just lay down and died, with no apparent injury. She seemed fine yesterday. None of my other 10 chickens are showing any signs of injury or illness. Should I examine her body to see if it was egg binding or some other physical issue? This is my first year as a chicken owner -- just since last spring. All 6 of my brown egg layers laid an egg yesterday, so she was fine then. What should i be looking for?

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas and [​IMG]! Happy you joined our flock but sorry it's under these circumstances. [​IMG] Sad to say, sometimes it's just a mystery and a chicken up and dies. I have found birds that were heathy when I put them away the night before - dead on the floor of the coop the next a.m. Or a bird dead in the yard without a feather out of place. I mean, I am sure there is a reason but it may not have been preventable on your part. I'd exam her but don't be disheartened if you don't find the cause. I did a BYC search with the words 'dead chicken no sign' and a few old threads popped up - you might give them a look and see what others have come up with after a mystery death. https://www.backyardchickens.com/newsearch?search=chicken+dead+no+sign
    Best wishes and thanks for joining BYC!

3. CuzChickens