1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

dead chickens

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ddixson, Dec 10, 2009.

1. ddixson

ddixson New Egg

Dec 10, 2009
    I am new to the chicken world and I have run into some problems. I have/had 12 amber sex link hens (that what I was told they were), 1 RhodeIsland Red Hen, and 2 Rhode Island Red Roosters. They are about 8 months old. Yesterday we went to the coup in the morning and it we found a dead hen. She was acting a little sluggish the night before. Then last night we went to the coupe and found another dead hen...they all acting fine in the morning when I had checked on them. THey do not seem to be torn apart. All of the birds have been losing feathers which we were told was because they are molting. The seond bird did not act strange at all earlier. We had then closed in to their coupe during the day because a snow storm so they were not able to get outside at all that day. Any ideas of what might have happened to the birds? I am very new to this and want to make sure that I am doing everything I can to take great care of them.

Thanks

2. emys

emys Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 19, 2008
    Idaho
    Is it possible they had a bad case of mites? Mites can cause low red blood cell count which leads to weakness, which could have caused freezing to death. Mites can also cause birds to pluck their own feathers. Sometimes you can't see the little buggers until it gets bad. The sparrows carry mites, so it is easy to have your birds exposed. Just a guess.

3. meriruka

meriruka Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 18, 2007
    I'd also check for moldy feed or anything poisonous they could have eaten.

4. emys

emys Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 19, 2008
    Idaho