Dead Eggs????

ngibb1

Hatching
5 Years
Nov 5, 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Hey Guys!

I am fairly new to having ducks so am just after some advise about my (hopefully) to-be babies!
I have 2 muscovies, male & female, which have been laying for a while but this is her first fertile batch.
All have been candelled, and looked great. Mumma Duck sits on them all day but gets off only for some food!
They are just about ready to hatch (I assume), as she had them about 3/4 weeks ago. She first laid them in a very
impractical place so we moved them into her coup (which she surprisingly didn't seem to mind).
1 of the eggs, as pictured below, looks black? I have read a few forums before posting this but none seemed to have photos..
I have tried candling it but I can see nothing, it's so dark! Last week there were 2 that looked like this, but now there is only one? I'm a bit confused and can't figure out if it was just a phase and now it's okay, or if she knew it was dead and hid it somewhere???
Just hoping someone with more experience than myself (not hard haha!) can provide some insight....

I would say it's a rotten egg. I had that happen to one the eggs at near hatching time. For some reason the momma never kicked it out of the nest like she did the others. I would toss it bc I've read rotten eggs can explode and get bacteria everywhere. The other egg could possibly be hidden somewhere

Thanks Mrs H! I had a feeling that could be the case. Hoping Mumma will let me give the coup a little clean out so I can try & find the missing egg! I have read so many stories about people thinking their eggs are dead, then cracking them open to find they're alive - so definitely want to be sure before removing it! Such a tough decision!
barnie.gif