dead mouse in the nest box

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by lilmstw72, Mar 14, 2011.

1. lilmstw72

lilmstw72 In the Brooder

Sep 4, 2010
    Mid-Michigan
    This seems odd to me but I'm still fairly new at the chicken thing so maybe someone can help clue me in...
    I went out this morning to check on my chickens and in one of the nest boxes was a very small dead mouse. Would one of the chickens killed it? I've never noticed a mouse problem since I've had the chickens. I have 7 chickens total and most are almost 1 year of age. I just found this odd and thought I'd ask an expert (or several) [​IMG].

2. ColbyNTX

ColbyNTX Songster

May 2, 2009
    Woods, TX
    Yes, chickens will kill a mouse in the daytime. They will also love when you find a nest with pinkies and feed them as treats! If you have feed out, then you have mice. They mostly come and steal feed at night when the chickens are at roost. Chickens can't see at night.

3. WriterofWords

WriterofWords Has Fainting Chickens

Dec 25, 2007
    Chaparral, New Mexico
    If there was a mouse in my nest boxes it would be a snack so fast it would never know what hit it. I wonder if it froze to death? Or smothered under a hen and she didn't notice it when she got out?

4. lilmstw72

lilmstw72 In the Brooder

Sep 4, 2010
    Mid-Michigan
    Quote:Well it was the nest box that one of my JG girls seems to be hiding out in (or she's broody, haven't figured this out yet) so maybe she smothered it? hmmm...

I do leave feed out but haven't noticed a mouse issue. Maybe I'll start just feeding them in the morning and at night what they need so I'm not feeding a mouse population!

5. kuntrygirl

kuntrygirl Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

Feb 20, 2008
    Opelousas, Louisiana