deep laceration on head, 6 week old chick... need advice!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by crunchyvt, Nov 14, 2011.

1. crunchyvt

crunchyvt New Egg

Nov 14, 2011
    We released our 6 week old buff orpington pullets out of their brooder boxes and into our coop and fenced yard today. A couple hours later we found one of them stuck in the metal fencing that goes around our chicken yard. It is not sharp, but I think the bird was struggling so hard that it got a deep cut on the back of it's neck. The cut goes all the way through the skin and is at least an inch wide. Being on the back of it's neck (high up by her head), the wound is gaping open. I've put that bird back in the brooder box by itself and dabbed some peroxide on the wound. Should I try to bandage it somehow? or get an antibiotic spray? We've raised chickens and turkeys for several years now, but this is my first time needing to provide first aid to any of the birds. Thanks!!

2. urbanfarmqueen

urbanfarmqueen Out Of The Brooder

Mar 2, 2010
    Los Angeles
    I too have no experience with this yet, but I would definitely baby her for a while and keep her separated until its got a good healthy scab over it. I would also purchase some antibiotic gel or something you could use daily. If it doesn't appear like it all scab and close on its own she may need a stitch or to. Wonder if you could use a small butterfly bandaid? Keep it clean & dry too. Good luck.

3. Tam'ra of Rainbow Vortex

Tam'ra of Rainbow Vortex Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 30, 2009
    Rogue Valley, S. Oregon