Deep litter: is a bigger coop better?

amk3000

In the Brooder
10 Years
May 6, 2009
NE PA
Hi,
I'm brand new to chickens, although I've been a wanna be for about 30 years. Our Buff Orp. and RIR are less than a week old. I've begun to build a coop for them, and plan on using deep litter.
I read somewhere that at 5 sq ft per hen, a coop with deep litter should require almost no maintenance.
If I build generously and supply 10 sq ft per hen, is there a possibility that the hens will ignore parts of the coop and leave it unscratched, leaving their poops on the surface instead of incorporating them into the litter?
Thanks,
Adam

You're not going to be 100% maintenance free.. You'll have to 1.) give the litter a mix now and then and 2.) Add more litter as it starts to settle and break down.

Having 10SF per bird will surely mean more time in between having to mix things up and add more though.

As far as getting things mixed up, you CAN let the chickens do alot of the work. Just throw down some scratch from time to time and they'll mix it up a bit. Just toss on the left side one time, and the right side the next time.

Eventually you'll need to give it a turn though.. Most people turn their shavings and mix it up when it starts to stink. In the event that turning does not correct the stink in a few days they add more shavings.

Using stall fresh or DE (though I don't understand how DE helps moisture) will help with the smell as well and can be tossed down before the shavings are mixed.