Deep litter method. A little confused.

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Chickens in the Grove, Sep 11, 2010.

1. Chickens in the Grove

Chickens in the Grove Out Of The Brooder

Aug 29, 2010
    Oregon
    I'm new to chickens and have been trying to figure out what would be best to put in the coop and the run. It seems like the deep litter method would be the easiest, but there are a few things I just don't think I'm getting.

1. Is it just for the coop or the run? Can you use it for both? Does it work better for one or the other? I originally thought that I would use it for the run until I realized that I didn't know what I was doing for the coop! I've been reading threads about it, but I couldn't find any that said, "yes, go for it" or "no, this works better" or "yes, but not in this climate."

2. In the coop: I've heard that the deep litter method will help keep your chickens warm in the winter, which would be nice, but I was wondering if it would help with the moisture in the coop? I live in Oregon. It rains 9 months out of the year. Everything is moist. So, would several inches of composting chicken poo be a problem? Would the litter absorb the moisture and actually help with the rain? Or would litter absorbing moisture trap moisture in the coop and make things worse? With proper ventilation would it not matter?