Deep Litter Method - Clarification Needed

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by MWright936, Jul 1, 2016.

1. MWright936

MWright936 Just Hatched

Jun 9, 2016
    Here is a photo of my coop for reference:

[​IMG]

This is my first time dealing with chickens. We have 4 hens that are still in a brooding pen but will be making this coop their home very soon.

Per earlier recommendations from folks on this site, I will be adding an additional base of 2x6's to increase the depth on the bottom and utilize the deep litter method. I'll also be adding more ventilation to the coop. I have been doing some research on the deep litter method, and I understand everything, but I can't find specific information on one question I have. I know I start with 4-6" of pine shavings, keep it stirred around every few days so it doesn't cake up, and then add fresh bedding periodically. However, when I stir things around in there, do I just need to stir up the surface (like with a garden rake) or do I need to churn everything from the bottom up (like with a pitch fork)? I want to make sure I do this right so everything composts as it should. I am in East TX so you have a reference of climate.

Please share your deep litter wisdom. Thanks!

2. BruceAZ

BruceAZ Chillin' With My Peeps

May 18, 2016
    Valley of the Sun :)
    east Texas ?

what's the typical temperature there ?

if it's the same as phoenix arizona.. then don't bother with deep litter method

since it's pretty much composting- compost will heat up

and you do NOT want to have a compost pile in the run or the coop

if it's 110+ outside and adding a compost pile in the run or coop is a bad idea

3. MWright936

MWright936 Just Hatched

Jun 9, 2016