Deep Litter Method Smell

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Roy Rooster, Nov 10, 2011.

1. Roy Rooster

Roy Rooster Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2010
    Tennesee Smoky Mts.
    Hi All, [​IMG]

I am new to the DLM I have been doing DLM for about 5 weeks now.

I have noticed a smell that is coming from the deep litter in my coop.
    It is kind of an earthy smell with a hint of musk.

I am not sure if this is normal of just the smell of the natural composting that is taking place in the coop.

I have a elevated coop with a solid wood floor.

Just want to make sure that everything is okay or if I need to do something. [​IMG]

Thanks in Advance.

2. AlienChick

AlienChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2010
    Glasgow, KY
    What type of bedding are you using? Pine shavings?

You should not have a strong "offensive" smell.

Do you rake up the bedding or allow the chickens to scratch through it?

I would check out the source of the smell; make sure that area is DRY.

Sometimes water bottles can secretly leak and you never know till you dig up the litter.

[​IMG]

3. aoxa

aoxa Overrun With Chickens

Quote:I have a strong offensive smell in the morning before they mix it up.. Is that normal?

Man.. Morning smells something fierce! After I let them out, and they go back in and mix up to composting DL, it smells like nothing at all.

4. AlienChick

AlienChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2010
    Glasgow, KY
    Yeah, the mornings can be the worse since all night long they've been pooing.

I like to rake mine in the morning with a metal rake. The shavings will absorb the moisture in the pooh which causes the smell to go away.

Some people just throw bread crumbles on the floor and allow the chickens to rake up the litter.

I add more shavings whenever necessary (very rarely) and I add some DE or PDZ to the shavings about once/month.

[​IMG]

5. justinsmom

justinsmom Out Of The Brooder

Aug 30, 2011
    Georgia