Deep Litter

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Ray 434, Mar 23, 2015.

1. Ray 434

Ray 434 New Egg

Mar 9, 2015
    I am new to both this forum and to raising chickens. I am retiring on 10 acres in central Saskatchewan and will have a small market garden, some chickens and guinea hens. In doing a little reading to set up for the chickens it seems that there are 2 fairly different approaches in terms of the chicken coop (I have an old building 200sq ft) deep litter vs constant cleaning. I did read Harvey Ussery's book on the subject of deep litter. Since I have no experience to fall back on I would be interested to know where others weigh in on these two approaches.

Ray Derksen

2. WildfireSmitty

WildfireSmitty Chillin' With My Peeps

[​IMG]

Welcome my Canadian comrade!

How many birds are you raising?

I go the deep litter way, using straw. I bed everyday. I rent a bobcat once a year for cleaning. Costs me 100$ for 2 days of cleaning. I find much faster and easier on your body.

With deep you wont get that exposure for breakdown as you would with daily cleaning. Cleaning daily/weekly your exposing your littler to the summer heat which will speed the breakdown process and allow you to compost it much faster.

Are they free range? that will help or not help on the amount of cleaning/bedding needed on a daily/weekly basis. Type of feed also will play a huge factor on which way you go.

Trial and error my friend. You might have to try different methods to see what suits you and your set up best.

Good luck!

P.S. this is a great place to come, you'll love it here.

Last edited: Mar 23, 2015
  3. Ray 434

Ray 434 New Egg

Mar 9, 2015