Deformed chick GRAPHIC PHOTO

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by JessicaHen, Nov 5, 2014.

1. JessicaHen

JessicaHen Out Of The Brooder

Oct 23, 2014
    [​IMG]

This chick is a from an EE hen and Buff Orp Rooster. I love my EE's personality and wanted some chicks from her. Had a feeling something was wrong with this egg so I helped it along and it ended up dying before I got it out. I slowly opened the egg and was taken aback by the lack of upper beak! Then after I got the whole thing out I saw the large mass, absence of eyes and upturned toes. I have 3 more eggs goin now from her, 2 looking good but another making no progress. I won't have anymore babies from her after this. Just had to share though. I'm new to raising chickens and it has take me by storm, I'm obsessed!! Anything we can add on here can help someone in the future. :)

2. JessicaHen

Oct 23, 2014
    Ok so this morning another one died and it had that same head but also it's whole abdomen was open as well. No more babies out of my Pop Tart (that's her name :). I think I'm gonna stop hatching for a bit. This whole thing is soooo stressful!

3. :welcome The mass you see is the egg yolk which has not been completely absorbed yet with meant the chick was not ready to hatch yet. It can take 12+ hours for a chick to hatch after pipping and during that time sometimes the chicks go into rest periods where there is no sound or movement. I know it's hard but you must be patient as the eggs are hatching. As for the deformities that chick may have just been deformed and not have not have survived anyways. Sorry for your losses but good luck with the rest of your hatch. :hugs

4. JessicaHen

Oct 23, 2014