1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Delawares as Meat Birds

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by JacobsRewardFarm, Jun 29, 2007.

1. JacobsRewardFarm

JacobsRewardFarm Out Of The Brooder

Jun 29, 2007
    Parker, TX
    I'm very new to chickens and new to this board. You all are very helpful!

So far I've had success with my two adult layers, and I've brooded my first small batch of junior layers (barred rocks and ameraucanas--8 total) who just turned 10 weeks old.

Bouyed on that success, I've built a tractor out of pvc for the pasture and have tonight received 25 Delaware chicks, destined for the freezer.

I chose Delawares because I support all the rare breed livestock I can, and I read that Delawares grow pretty fast for non-cornish chickens. I didn't trust Cornish to survive out in the tractor where they have to forage for a bit of their food.

My plan is to move them out to the tractor when they are 4-5 weeks old and then butcher at 12 weeks. Does that seem reasonable? Should I wait until 16 weeks? Or maybe weigh them at 12 and see how big they've gotten? (They are straight run.)

Thanks for all the butchering tips - I'm collecting the ideas and planning my strategy and "set up." Gonna see what I'm made out of.

Cindy T. in TX
    Jacob's Reward Farm
    (2 donkeys, 4 alpacas, 2 sheep, herding dog, barn cat, pet guinea pig, 10 layers, 25 meat Delawares)

2. Slim

Slim Out Of The Brooder

Jun 16, 2007
    Portage Michigan
    I don't have any experience with the Delawares, but according to McMurray's Delaware page, its a "medium" heavy breed developed from Barred Rocks crossed with New Hampshires . I have experience with White and Barred Rocks so I'll go from there.