1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

Denham Springs, Louisiana Laws & Ordinances??

Discussion in 'Local Chicken Laws & Ordinances' started by ChetLavigne, Feb 17, 2015.

1. ChetLavigne

ChetLavigne Hatching

Feb 17, 2015
    Can anyone help me? I am new to BYC and I am in search of any Laws and/or Ordinances for Denham Springs, Louisiana. I've never raised chickens before and I'm planning on getting some but, I wanted to make sure its ok in my area. I've emailed our city council but have yet to get a reply from them. I am planning on getting 15 chickens total. 5 RIR's, 5 EE's & 5 Cream Legbars. All hens-No roosters. I live in a subdivision with 1.2 acre lots. There is no home owners association and we are outside the city limits. There are no specified subdivision/neighborhood rules on my house/land deed. My chickens will be penned and/or cooped 24/7. Not allowed to free range. Are there any licenses or permits I would need to obtain beforehand? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.

2. LessiesLayers

LessiesLayers Hatching

Feb 2, 2015
    I'm from Breaux Bridge and called the City Zoning Dept. They told me that I couldn't raise livestock within the city limits and quoted the zoning regulations. I'm gonna have 6 chicks by the end of the week and plan on taking my chances. I've checked with neighbors and they have no qualms about it. (6 dogs v.s 6 chicks?) I don't think they'd appreciate any roosters! LOL I don't think you will have any problems outside of your city limits.

3. ChetLavigne

ChetLavigne Hatching

Feb 17, 2015