1. Come check out hundreds of awesome coop pages (and a few that need suggestions) in our 2018 Coop Rating Project!

Depressed mallard

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by puffer, Jul 26, 2013.

1. puffer

puffer Hatching

Jul 26, 2013
    Hi all
    I'm new to this and have kept ducks for a couple of years now and I am no expert so hope some of you can help advise me
    We have a wild mallard that visits us occasionally for feed and a swim ( she was one of ours until she flew the nest around a year ago ) well she has had two lots of ducklings this year which she has unfortunately lost all , we were unaware of the first batch but the recent hatched ducklings we decided to give her as much help as we dare even walking behind her for three miles when she went to go to water but we had to rescue them after it all got two dangerous
    Well two days ago she managed to get her babies out some how and we never saw them again and are really gutted about this but mum still comes back calling them and spends hours just sitting on the pond ramp looking really depressed any advice welcome if there is anything we could try to cheer her up

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Loving this country life Premium Member