Depression

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Mycuties, Aug 27, 2013.

1. Mycuties

Mycuties New Egg

Aug 27, 2013
    One of my cuties seems to be depressed, she is not fusing over her food like the others, infact she is not eating much at all.
    So i was wondering if anyone knows what i can do to help her, as i am new at this and have no idea what to do.
    I let them out for their run and so they can scratch around the property they can come in and out of the hutch.
    Could she be egg bound? if so what do you do?

2. lilypad

lilypad Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 17, 2013
    UK
    Hello there [​IMG]

What does her crop feel like? Is it a hard ball, or squishy like a waterballoon, or is it completely empty? (best to feel 1st thing in the morning).

Does she look like she's struggling to lay? Is her back end tensing or is she relaxed?

How's her breathing? Any sneezes or wheezes?

Does her comb look nice and red?

Any information you could give would really help! Hope she picks up soon.

3. theGrizzFan

theGrizzFan Out Of The Brooder

Sep 3, 2012
    Missouri Ozarks
    It's probably that darn hip hop music they listen to.

Just kidding, of course. How old is the chicken? How long have you had her? What are you feeding them? How's your water set up? Has there been a hot spell in the weather where you are? Is she new to your flock? Are there external stresses about like cats or dogs outside of the fence? Is she at the bottom of the pecking order? How does her eyes and vent look? Hopefully it's something minor and easily fixed, but everything is just a guess without details.

Best of luck to you.

4. Mycuties

Mycuties New Egg

Aug 27, 2013
    Hi thanks for your help henrietta is going great once again I have been watching her,
    She is back to normal laying again, she laid the biggest egg I have ever seen.
    Thanks everyone

5. Mycuties

Mycuties New Egg

Aug 27, 2013