Desperate to find out!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by NeoMummy, Dec 21, 2014.

1. NeoMummy

NeoMummy New Egg

Dec 21, 2014
    Tasmania
    Hi guys.
    I've joined this forum in desperation. I brought 6 unsexed chickens a few months ago, ended up with 7 as the guy threw one in as a freebie.
    Now I'm new to all this chicken keeping stuff and I'm finding it very hard to tell what is a hen and what is a rooster. Below I've attached pictures of what we have, one is confirmed rooster, but there is another one or two in question.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

You will see there is a black one inside the coop that is on the small side with red comb and wattle (second last pic), next to the black one with yellow comb and wattle, the first one is the one in question? I have witnessed 'it' crowing. There is a white one there, which is leg horn cross RIR?, smallest of the group, has large comb and wattle but no crowing yet. There is light brown and white one who is confirmed a rooster as I've seen him crow and has now been collared with a No Crow Collar, hasn't crowed since fitting.
    So in the 'flock' we have 3 Australorps, 1 Leg Horn (crossed?), a Rhode Island, one brown and weird coloured one not sure of breed, and what we think is a RIR cross Leg Horn.
    Can someone help me before I have my neighbours making complaints? I'm really desperate, as the little black one with the huge ? above it's head is my 4 year old sons, and if I have to get rid of it, it will break his heart. I'm hoping I'm wrong........

Last edited: Dec 21, 2014
  2. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    [​IMG]

So how old are the birds in question?

We'll need better pics of the specific bird(s) in question. Profile shots, including legs and tail are best for sexing. I can say that any bird this young that is crowing is male, so that can answer some of your questions.

3. NeoMummy