Detached air cells

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Aleechickens, Oct 1, 2016.

1. Aleechickens

Aleechickens New Egg

Oct 1, 2016
    Upstate NY
    Hello
    I'm a newbie when it comes to using an incubator and fertilized chicken eggs. I have a lot of questions and although I just made a user name, I've used this site for the past 2 years. What a life saver.

We had a chicken go broody so I first received eggs from a local farmer, and for some reason they were refrigerated and it broke her from being broody.[​IMG] I had also ordered eggs online as well. So now I have 9 fertile eggs in a incubator. The first batch arrived and only 3 survived shipping, all are fertile but with detached air cells. The shipper sent out 6 more, and all six are fertile some with detached air cells.

First off is the incubation period still 21 days even though I put them all in the incubator on the same day? There was a 4-5 day difference in the eggs being laid, but they're all in the same incubator.

I have a self turning incubator should I stop it? The chicks should be hatching in the next 7 days. How to I handle 3 possible chicks hatching a week earlier than the rest? So I put them in a brooder right away?

So many questions..We live in upstate NY, how do integrate the new chicks into my clutch? We have 6 hens, and another set of chicks that are 7 weeks old that another broody hen hatched through adoption. ( we have no adult roosters) Do we do it right away? I'm hoping the momma with the 6 adopted chicks will take these on too.

Thank you

2. ChkenKeeper

ChkenKeeper Just Hatched

Aug 19, 2016
    Tracy, California
    OK a lot of questions in your post:
    - The incubation period is still 21 days regardless of when you received them.
    - Eggs should be kept at room (inside) temperature before putting them into the incubator for at least (1) day.