Did I Do It Wrong!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by ilovemydog, Nov 18, 2011.

1. ilovemydog

ilovemydog Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2011
    Candle once at day 7 and saw some great air sacs' growing in about all 7 eggs. Anyway we couldn't find the markings on the eggs(under a broody) so we kept turning them lightly but not super slow. itll be day 20 on this upcoming wednesday so looking for a thanksgiving hatch [​IMG] do you think it was fine bcuz we did turn most of them or do you think i killed them.

i meant when i was candling them i kept turning them to see a better view. it was my first time so i want to make sure i just didn't kill them.

Last edited: Nov 18, 2011
  2. Melissa Rose

Melissa Rose Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 14, 2011
    South Texas
    I am new to chickens so my info is ? but it is my understanding you can't turn them too much just to little also if they are under a broody she will turn them and you don't have too. Have you tried candling one? Take it out and hold it to a small flashlight and see if you can see movement or veins. [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

3. Melissa Rose

Melissa Rose Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 14, 2011
    South Texas
  4. ChickieBooBoo

ChickieBooBoo Cold Canadian Chick

Dec 2, 2009
    Canada
    If the eggs are being incubated by a broody hen you shouldn't need to turn them by hand. The hen turns them herself.

5. silkiechicken

silkiechicken Staff PhD Premium Member

Quote:Yeah, that.

6. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    I'm not quite certain why you were turning eggs under a broody.? She does that multiple times a day herself. Anyway, no you did not cause any harm. If they were fertile, they will hatch.

7. ilovemydog

ilovemydog Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2011
    Sorry guys i meant when i was candling them i kept turning them to see a better view. it was my first time so i want to make sure i just didn't kill them.

8. sourland