Did I end up with all roosters?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by heathergreen, Feb 21, 2012.

1. heathergreen

heathergreen Out Of The Brooder

Feb 14, 2012
    Labelle, Florida
    I'm a newbie to chickens...we set up our coop, made sure it was perfect then started to search for some chickens. I wanted to start with around five hens...all old enough to go right out side to the coop (wasn't interested in raising chicks yet). It was difficult to find someone near by me that had any old enough.

I found one guy through craigslist about and hour and a half away from me...and he said he had a bunch that were all around 4 1/2 months. Went to his place and he showed me all of his hens and I picked out four. As we were leaving I mentioned I wanted silkies too and he said he knew a lady down the street with some, so he called her. She only had one Silkie rooster but I really wanted a silkie so I went and bought the lone rooster.

I posted some photos in a group I'm in on facebook and I'm finding out that besides the silkie rooster....there are three other possible roosters in this group! The Rhode Island Red, possibly the gold/black one, and possibly the grey with the red/brown on the wings.

Here's the photos I have that I took with my phone, I'll take some better ones today if any of you need to see some closer shots just let me know.

I'd love to know who the roo's are if you guys know....

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. EweSheep

EweSheep Flock Mistress

Jan 12, 2007
    Land of Lincoln
    RIR is a rooster
    The silkie looks roo-ish because of the streamers but only time I can tell is when they start crowing.

In the first picture, the blue bird with brown smudges on its wings, that one is a roo.

The brown and black one (speckled or broken patterns) on the right is a pullet.
    The black on the far left with tail toward the camera looks more pullet.