did I get old hens? (pics of heads and legs added!)

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by backyarder717, Dec 23, 2009.

1. backyarder717

backyarder717 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 15, 2009
    Jamestown, NY
    I am new to the backyard flock thing...we recently bought 12 hens and a rooster (barred rocks and RIR's) from a lady. It has been three weeks. Only three or four eggs so far. I think she sold us her old birds but I am not sure. How can I tell if they are over two years old or not?

Thanks

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Dec 24, 2009
  2. G Wiz Ranch

G Wiz Ranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 20, 2009
    Lompoc, CA
    post pics of their heads, and one of the roos leggs

3. chickenlover54

chickenlover54 Henely Hatchery

May 20, 2009
    Northern Illinois
    hens need time to settle in before they lay. You should probably be getting more eggs soon

4. lauralou

lauralou Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 10, 2007
    Central Virginia
    While it's certainly possible that you were sold older hens, there are other possible reasons that you aren't getting eggs.

The stress of the move could have caused them to stop laying. That can happen. Also, winter isn't the best time of year for egg production in general. The shorter days cause a slowdown.

Even if the hens are older, they may still lay for you. I still have 2 hens from my original flock. While it's true that they don't lay as well as they used to, they do still lay. Big, giant eggs! They are heritage birds, and they (and their daughters) didn't even start laying until the spring after they hatched. Plus, they don't lay well in winter. So they aren't "worn out" at all. This might work differently with a hatchery hen who was bred for extreme egg production in youth. I'm not sure about that.