Did I kill a chick?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by LongRanch, Jun 26, 2016.

1. LongRanch

LongRanch Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 17, 2016
    This is my first time incubating (with a homemade incubator) and I counted three weeks as opposed to 21 days... Stupid me.... Three weeks has us at Friday so I thought we were overdue. I float tested them, and only two of the seven were viable, so we started cracking open the dead ones. After three obviously undeveloped fetuses, I got a fully formed chick with feathers -- obviously it was too small and not developed quite enough to make it. It wasn't moving but it looked so perfect, I don't know if I mistook the pulse in my thumb for a heartbeat when I felt... So I counted and realized we are on day 17. Was it already dead?? It would have been moving etc if it was alive right?? I feel like an idiot. Does the float test work this early? I put the last remaining 'dead' egg back in the incubator for now...

2. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY
    Float tests in my opinion are fairly useless. For one, the only certainty with the float test is that if an egg floats and wiggles on it's own it is a viable chick. However, an egg that floats and doesn't move is not for certain dead nor is a sinker. People have reported eggtopsying sinkers to find a still alive chick. Second, float tests should only be done after the day 21 mark as a fully developed chick is going to have a higher probability of showing movement in the water. (Of course this same movement should be noticeable during candling and handling, at least to a small degree.)

Last edited: Jun 26, 2016
  3. LongRanch

Apr 17, 2016
    So do you think this one was dead because it wasn't moving? God I hope so [​IMG] I thought we were two days overdue...

4. AmyLynn2374

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY