dietary problems

Trefoil

Songster
8 Years
Dec 7, 2011
I'm not trying to subvert the topic, but have always wondered. Isn't a person that is gluten intolerant just lacking the amino acids or digestive enzymes required to digest the gluten that most people have? And if this is true, wouldn't it be more efficient to supplement that missing enzyme than trying to avoid certain foods?
Kind of.... I'm NO expert here, but I do hope that someone chimes up; ivecread some very interesting threads on here from individuals attempting to feed based on gluten intolerance and celiac...

I agree about the missing enzymes, but I think it would be nearly impossible to get those types of enzymes from food, unless it's something as simple as a bacterial or microbial issue. I believe it has more to do with the actual RNA structure of the indigestible starches/sugars.

I also do think that it has come from generations of chemical agriculture, but I don't want to get into that lol... It's a mutation in the actual DNA in response to inability to digest this "food". As it is mostly the children that are suffering this, its hard to waffle ingredients when you do finally find something that doesn't HURT to eat.

I have to keep my own microbes in check just to be able to drink milk or eat cheese because of lactose intolerance. As long as I keep my gut flora healthy, I don't have problems. But instill can't help my genetic response to it; its the milk. I drink raw milk, and no problem. Change of diet is not always as easy as that, though, I'm afraid
sad.png
"
Edited by shortgrass - Today at 11:05 am

If a person has no problem with whole milk and problems with processed milk, isn't it more likely that they have a problem with the added ingredients (vit D supplement?) than lactose, which is in both?

Kind of.... I'm NO expert here, but I do hope that someone chimes up; ivecread some very interesting threads on here from individuals attempting to feed based on gluten intolerance and celiac...