Difference between female and male muscovies.

DuckyGaze

Songster
7 Years
Apr 10, 2015
I really want to know the difference between male and female without sexing. I am not confident enough to watch a youtube on sexing ducks, to actually go out and do it.

Here is what I want to show you.

One has black on the top of its head .. the other doesn't. They are about 5 weeks old now. A lady brought them to me after she had purchased them so both have their poor beaks clipped.
sad.png
But they are doing so well! Always beautifully pure white! They are really lovely and I want to keep them. Will they survive well with other muscovies later on? Or should they be set apart always. I am scared the big male will beat on them and hurt them. They are in their own pen at night. The big male in a pen alone and the female alone with her babies.

Here is a pic of each of them.

That is the first one.

And this is the other one. Always so beautiful and clean. Lovely muscovies. It is my first year with muscovies and I have fallen in love with them.
love.gif
Only thing I do not like is the fact that these poor babies had their beaks clipped. When the lady brought them to me I was shocked to see this.

What is this "beak clipping" thing?? Do people do that? Why??

Also, are they exactly the same size? Males will be much larger. Right now they do look like females, but it's still pretty early to know for sure. The males will start to get more of the red caruncles on their faces as they get older.

Last edited:
Yes they are pretty much the exact same size.

The beak clipping is horrible! These 2 muscovies were ordered from the Co-op store to be fattened up. The lady who purchased them brought them to me after only 2 days so they were actually only 3 days old.