different age chicks living together?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by mommy4cdjm, May 14, 2009.

1. mommy4cdjm

mommy4cdjm Out Of The Brooder

May 14, 2009
    I have 4 chicks that are about 3 weeks old and 4 chicks that are under 1 week. Can they live together with out hurting each other? I have them together now and they seem fine but I am a bit worried since the 3 week olds are bigger. Thanks for any advice. I am new to this. [​IMG]

2. GaDawg

GaDawg Chillin' With My Peeps

May 16, 2008
    North GA
    if they are doing fine now, then you have no problem. It was good that they were all so young.

3. columbiacritter

columbiacritter Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 7, 2008
    Scappoose Oregon
    I have the same issue, except I have 4 three weekers and 26 5 day olds. So far the bigger birds have been ok though one has peck several babies. I think they scare her, but I'm hoping she calms down soon. [​IMG]

4. ZooMummzy

ZooMummzy Queen of the Zoo

Mar 31, 2008
    Philomath, Oregon
    I put my two 1 week old frizzles in with my 4 week old silkies and cochins. They are doing just fine. The older ones look after the little ones. Of course, the silkies and cochins are very mild mannered. I would have never put them in with my sebrights and japanese!

5. yodercountrygirl

yodercountrygirl Chillin' With My Peeps

I am wondering the same thing... I have some 3wks old( EE and a pair of Japenese Banty's) do I put my day olds with them???

6. humboldtchicken

humboldtchicken Out Of The Brooder

May 5, 2009
    eureka