Dimension Questions

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Weasleymum, Aug 1, 2008.

1. Weasleymum

Weasleymum Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 1, 2008
    Virginia
    Hello all, I'm brand new to chickens and to this forum-- in fact I haven't even gotten my chickens yet. I wanted to build the coop first, before getting birds, but I have a ton of questions re: coop plans.

I'm planning on making a tractor with the coop above, and the yard below and to the side, rather like this one. I was planning the upper bit to be 4'x4', and the bottom to be 4'x10', for 3-4 hens. I'm planning on getting largish chickens, maybe Buff Orps-- something calm and easygoing for a first-timer.

Everybody talks about how many square feet per chicken, but what about head-height? How *tall* should the coop- part be, with nest boxes, perches and all? Is two feet tall too short?

How high from the floor of the coop should the perches be? Should the perches be higher or lower than the height of the nest box? Is one or two boxes for four hens enough?

For the ramp leading from the coop to the enclosed yard, how steep can that be? Is a 45 angle too steep?

Does the chickens' food and water go inside the coop, or just inside the yard? I guess what I mean is, do they eat or drink after going inside for the night, or just during the day?

I'm assuming that I need a large access panel or door (in the roof or wall) for cleaning, a small one for egg-gathering, and one into the yard. Does that sound right?

Thanks in advance for any answers!

2. Heather J

Heather J Chillin' With My Peeps

May 29, 2008