1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

Dirt Bath or Not ?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Maxwell Schmidt, Nov 16, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Maxwell Schmidt

Maxwell Schmidt In the Brooder

Nov 11, 2017
    Hi,
    Im fairly new to the backyard quail scene so I've got a couple questions regarding dirt baths for the quails. Ive got a fairly small covey of Coturnix (2 male 9 female) in a home built coop (8'x3'x16"tall) in my back yard. I've got them mostly for hunting dog training and for fun but I like to think I spoil them regardless! I've heard they really enjoy the option of a dirt bath in their coop for a few different reasons. I guess my questions would be:

1) is it worth the time/money/effort to provide them with a dirt bath
    2) what size and "dirt" materials/ratios do I put in it? (Diatomaceous Earth?)

Id really like to get into hatching and brooding soon and Ive heard that happy quail make hatching a lot easier! Thanks in advance for any input!

-Max

sfaith102, YavGuy and venymae like this.
  2. CntryBoy777

CntryBoy777 Songster

Apr 25, 2016
    North Ms
    Ours love to dust bathe, and we have an old clay pot bottom that we put all purpose sand in with some DE mixed in, they will run and hop in it as soon as it is put inside their pen. I'm not sure about the females hatching eggs tho, ours have never brooded, so it may be wise to have an incubator to hatch them, probably more reliable and dependable. Just be sure to vet one that has the insert tray for those small eggs. We have never hatched them, so I can't be of any help to ya on that....:)

YavGuy and Maxwell Schmidt like this.
  3. TLC Mini Farm

TLC Mini Farm In the Brooder

Nov 15, 2017