Dirt floor with foxes in the area

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by dakind50, May 13, 2009.

1. dakind50

dakind50 Out Of The Brooder

May 12, 2009
    So I have an old coop that I have to put a new roof on. It has a dirt floor in it. I will also have to add a nice run. I am worried about keeping the dirt floor as we have foxes around here and I don't want them to dig in. Rats/Mice, not worried about cause my cats seemed to kill them non-stop last year.

I am a newbie and want to know what I should be looking for in this coop as far as keeping out the foxes..

thanks
    chris

2. first time farmer

first time farmer Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 31, 2008
    New Hampshire
    Put a floor in! I know some one who did not and she lost all 30 of her chickens to a fox or something. I reacently(sp) lost 5 to a fishercat so i would not take any chances on that one.

3. dakind50

dakind50 Out Of The Brooder

May 12, 2009
    I am worried about things living in the open space and I didn't want to spend the money, but I guess I will. How do folks using dirt floors keep out the foxes?

4. rainbowgardens

rainbowgardens Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 19, 2008
    Central Virginia
    I'm concerned about the foxes as well and will add on a question.
    How quickly can they dig a hole?
    My friend has a dirt floor for their coop and they assigned their son with the job of looking everyday to see if anything has tried to dig under.
    Could they dig under in one night?

5. homeschoolmama

homeschoolmama Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2009
    Flagstaff, AZ
    We're just finishing our coop and hope it works. We have a dirt floor and are surrounding the coop with the run and dug an apron and buried fencing there around the edge of the run. Trying to make the run predator proof so the coop doesn't have to be.

6. AkTomboy

AkTomboy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 21, 2009
    DJ, Alaska
    I got a few ideas ~~
    1. Get a Great Pyr