Dirty eggs

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Wdnvlchick, Dec 8, 2008.

1. Wdnvlchick

Wdnvlchick New Egg

Dec 8, 2008
    Seattle is a very muddy place to raise chickens and even thought my girls take dirt baths daily they are still dirtier than they ever were during the summer. Now my best layer has absolutely filthy eggs. She must be rolling them in her poo. I just read that maybe we shouldn't be eating them, even though I wash them. Opinions? How do I get her to keep her eggs clean? Her tail feathers are really dirty and I am wondering if maybe she is unhealthy from being in mud so much. I've only had chickens for about 6 months now so I am a chicken farmer newbie and am probably doing something wrong. I only have 3 girls and they have an indoor henhouse and a covered outdoor, non-muddy area, and then a fenced outside non-covered, extremely muddy area. I try to let them out most everyday but predators cause a constant threat.

2. zatsdeb

zatsdeb Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 2, 2007
    Lincoln, Illinois
    do you use straw in your nesting boxes? we have some boxes that just have dirty eggs in them! and most of them are clean.
    you just have to wash them, the only thing is not to scrub them with anything abrasive. I just use a damp paper towel, and when you wash them you just need to use them sooner, as they will not be fresh as long.
    that shell protects them and helps with the "shelf life"
    we wash our eggs all the time, and eat them, we have never gotten sick or anything from that.

3. Wdnvlchick

Wdnvlchick New Egg

Dec 8, 2008
    The nesting boxes do have straw in them but this one consistently lays her eggs on the floor under the nesting boxes. When the boxes were on the floor she'd lay on top of the boxes and the eggs would roll off and crack. Silly chicken. Should I put hay on the floor maybe? I put sawdust on the floor today in hopes of it caking the mud a bit. Thanks for the reply!

4. Imp