Dirty eggs

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by krazykoop, Nov 4, 2016.

1. krazykoop

krazykoop New Egg

Nov 1, 2016
    Ohio
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I have an issue with my hens laying eggs from the roost bar, which land in the poop tarp. So, every morning I am finding the eggs are soiled. There is so much conflicting info on should I or should I not clean the eggs and if I do clean them are they ok to consume? I'm new at this and need some advice. In particular, why are the hens using the roost to lay eggs?? I have nesting boxes, but neither hen is interested in them......any suggestions?

Last edited: Nov 4, 2016
  2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    If they are new to laying, then I'd think that its more an issue of them sorting out their egg-laying system.

3. aart

aart Chicken Juggler! Premium Member

Nov 27, 2012
    SW Michigan
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC!

Read your intro....you have some silkies and large fowl birds.
    How many of each?
    Is it the silkies that are laying off the roost?

How old are these birds and how long have you had them?

Can you post pics of your nests and the inside of your coop?

ETA: regarding eating the dirty eggs, that's up to you.
    I wash thoroughly under running water that is warmer than the egg.
    Air and towel dry and refrigerate .....or use immediately after washing.
    Some are so gross I toss them, some I might hard boil to ensure thorough cooking.

4. krazykoop

krazykoop New Egg

Nov 1, 2016
    Ohio
    Thanks for your response. I suppose I should clarify my intro......my son kept the silkies, I have two Rhode Island Red hens and one Barred Rock roo. I have only had them for about two weeks and they are not quite a year old, so my son got them as chicks back in the Spring.