dirty vent

Im new to chickens, you'll be able to tell. One of my buff orpingtons has a dirty vent. Does this mean somethings wrong with her?
Do you mean poop is sticking to her feathers around her vent? mine get this and I trim the feathers so it doesn't build up. If you thinking something else is wrong you might want to wash her off with warm water so you can get a better look, just don't put her back outside wet if your temps are cold.

Last edited:
Do you mean poop is sticking to her feathers around her vent? mine get this and I trim the feathers so it doesn't build up. If you thinking something else is wrong you might want to wash her off with warm water so you can get a better look, just don't out her back outside wet if your temps are cold. 
yes, I mean poop is sticking to her. Thanks for the information. I'll clean her up tomorrow.

yes, I mean poop is sticking to her. Thanks for the information. I'll clean her up tomorrow.
Hopefully that's all it is. keep us updated. In the late fall I clip all my hens feathers around the vent just to keep things clean over winter. just be very careful not to clip skin.

Shes just too fluffy. She seems to be fine. I did cut the mess out, just too many feathers.im keeping an eye on her though. Shes the only one dirty around the vent. She layed an egg about an hour ago.

I have a couple with extra fluffy backsides that need the occasional trim to keep things tidy. Sometimes worms can cause a dirty behind as well. Something to consider if they haven't been dewormed.

Is pumpkin a natural dewormer? I have not wormed my hens. They've just started laying and as awful as it sounds, I'm so excited to have eggs I don't want to not be able to use the eggs for 20 days.
Another "dumb" question for you, could worms be in the eggs?