DIY Incubator innovation

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by newinthegame, Dec 17, 2014.

1. newinthegame

newinthegame Out Of The Brooder

Dec 13, 2014
    Hello!

I am new to this forum. I live in Sweden where we don´t have a good forum like this! Last year I build a homemade incubator. It had a hatchrate of about 40% so not very good!. I am very new to electronics so I learning all the time.I had some problem with the turning and a bad tempsensor. I have now started to work on a better version.

I´m going to start with the control system. A microprocessor is the brain of the system. It makes the temp and humidity readings and controls the heat source ( two light bulbs). A couple of friends also want´s this system so I am going to build a system that is easy and safe to use for everyone who builds a DIY incubator.

My demand on the system are:

Be able to monitor temp and humidity on a PC.
    No high voltage wiring.
    Accuracy of about 0.5 C.
    Cheap to build (not more than 15 $).

I am using a dusk relay to turn on and off my light bulbs. My processor controls the relay with a simple LED which is taped on the relay. By this way you don´t need to do any dangerous high voltage wiring.

My questions are. What more functions would you like to have on a incubator control system?

The attached picture is a screenshot of my computer monitoring my two sensors.

[​IMG]

Sorry for my bad English!

//Johan

2. HatchCraft

HatchCraft Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 15, 2011
    North Florida