DIY incubator questions

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by chickenhobby1, Jul 22, 2011.

1. chickenhobby1

chickenhobby1 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 21, 2011
    central Mi.
    Hello all, I am new to byc but my question is this I have been doing some research on building my own incubator. I want to do this to save money and just for the fun of creation of somthing. I was wondering if people often make the bators or its rare to hear of? I also am wondering if people do do this then what are some productive ideas, I have heard and saw on youtube that a hot water heater thermostat wired up is accurate enough the incubate eggs has anyone else done this thanks?

2. fishman65

fishman65 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2009
    flat rock
    there are "THOUSANDS" of homemade incubators out there. there are a bunch of pics on here of homemade incubators. check out the sticky at the top of this forum...they are very simple too make and inexpensive!!!!! try it, they are fun to make!!

3. chickenhobby1

Jul 21, 2011
    central Mi.
    thanks I will check do the diy bators work as well?

4. chickenhobby1

Jul 21, 2011
    central Mi.
    AMAZING! (lol)

5. Flawedatdesign

Flawedatdesign Chillin' With My Peeps

May 18, 2011
    Dixon Missouri
    There are tons of members who use home bators. I made mine out of a plastic tote a broken hoe handle a cheap dollar basket along with a computer fan and a light socket. I bought the water heater T-stat everything else was from stuff I had around the house.

[​IMG]

Had chicks hatch a week ago.

6. quintinp

quintinp Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 22, 2010
    Southern Oklahoma