DLM and using Arc Coop Design

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by sunnyvalewarren, Mar 31, 2009.

1. sunnyvalewarren

sunnyvalewarren New Egg

Mar 30, 2009
    Mountain View, CA
    I am thinking about building an Arc with this design: http://www.catawbacoops.com/

I
    am interested in using the DLM because I will need to keep the coop stationary for a couple of years. But I am new at this and still can't picture exactly how it will work.

I know the design will need some modification to hold the litter in place, but I have just had a hard time figuring out where it goes.

My questions:
    1. Where do I put the litter? In the roost and/or in the run?
    2. Do the chickens live in the litter all the time, or would they need an additional run to get away from it sometimes?
    3. With an additional run, or if the litter just goes in the roost, how do you clean the run?
    4. When the chickens go up to roost at night, do you close the ramp and then how do you keep the ramp clean?

Sorry for all the newbie questions. I have read a lot and just couldn't figure this part out.
    Thanks!
    Marielle

2. Cetawin

Cetawin Chicken Beader

Mar 20, 2008
    NW Kentucky
    Hi and welcome!

I am not sure how that design works but I will answer your questions as best I can.

My questions:
    1. Where do I put the litter? In the roost and/or in the run? The litter would be inside and used for their bedding and in the nest box unless you chose straw for nests and something else for bedding/litter.

2. Do the chickens live in the litter all the time, or would they need an additional run to get away from it sometimes?

Preferred method if they will have outside time...4 sq ft minnimum per bird of floor space inside...if they are going to be confined inside 24/7 give them twice that amount per bird.