DNA sexing for chickens

deedletree

In the Brooder
9 Years
Jul 8, 2010
San Mateo
Hi BYC folks,

I'm a chicken-obsessed mom, living in an area where I can't have roosters. Before I moved to California, I was a laboratory manager at a molecular genetics lab. Having lived through the less-than-fun experience of raising a baby who turned out to be a boy, I have decided to offer a DNA sexing service for folks like myself.

Last edited by a moderator:
its a nice idea for birds but I think just for chicken that s bit expensive per bird

geese and duck maybe more feasible to pay that but chicken im sceptical

we usually only use that for parrots etc.

Here it costs $35 per bird and takes about 3 weeks to get the results, by that time you would be attached to a chick already and may even have an idea of its gender due to its appearance.
They should use this on those hard to sex silkies sometimes maybe but I think its a waste on anything else.

Hi Brahmabreeder,

The PCR method I'm using has been used for avian sexing of all sorts of species of birds by research scientists, and is very close to 100% accurate.

Essentially, the sexing will be as accurate as the samples I get. As long as I get feathers (or egg membrane or blood) from the right bird, I should be able to tell you its sex.

Thanks for asking!

Angie

In response to the other questions:

Marlene2012, I transmit the results via e-mail as soon as I'm certain I know the sex. This is usually in less than a week.

Afterward I send a little "Certificate of Gender", via mail.

Fancyfowl4ever, my goal is to make my service both quick and inexpensive, specifically with backyard chicken owners in mind.