1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Do chickens like to be picked up?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by TwoCrows, May 19, 2011.

1. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    I am new to chickens and had I known that they could be this sweet and affectionate, I would have starting keeping them years ago. I have 4 Australorp girls that I have had since they were 2 days old. I made sure to handle them a lot as babies, so that they would be as friendly as possible as adults. My girls are now 10 1/2 weeks old and are as sweet as can be. They come running when they see me, follow me around like puppies, and fight for the best spot on my lap when I sit down with them in the run. They get all over me and love my attention. I make sure to continue touching them as they sit and sleep on my lap and I can touch them anywhere on their bodies. They enjoy being pet, and especially love their chins and wattle areas rubbed. A few of them love to have the areas around the eyes and comb area rubbed also. When I need to get up, I can gently pick each one of them up and place them down on the ground with no fear or screaming on their part. If one of them was not able to get a good spot on my lap, I can pick her up and place her on my lap with ease.