Do chickens need to be taught to go in/roost at night?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by TeamHolt, Apr 2, 2012.

1. TeamHolt

TeamHolt Out Of The Brooder

Mar 29, 2012
    Coastal North Carolina
    I have 5 chicks, they're 5 weeks old and tonight is their first night outside. They are in a chicken tractor, much like the design of the Catawba http://catawbacoops.com/

None of them have made it into the upstairs/roost portion on their own yet. Do they need to be taught to go to bed? I have shown them there is an upstairs, and they've played on the ramp... but haven't figured it out.

They just lay down in the grass.

If I pull up the ramp with them in there- with me manually putting them upstairs- do I need to include their food and water up there too, since they're young?

Thanks in advance.

2. 33yardbirds

33yardbirds Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 15, 2010
    Southern New Jersey
    I have no experience with tractors, but after lifting the surround from the chicks after they no longer need heat they start bouncing up on the roosting area like a bunch of kids on a jungle gym and these roost are set up for large fowel (Rocks). They start roosting on waters and feeders before I give them free range of the coop and run. As far as going in at night, I have never had to catch them and put them in. I subscribe to to the "let 'em be chickens " school of thought. Simple, but it takes alot of stress & fret off me.

3. WI FarmChick

WI FarmChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 22, 2012
    Wisconsin
    well.... I too have no experience using a chicken tractor. But...this should work for your girls as well.

Is there enough room and ventilation for you to lock them in for 3-7 days without them over heating in there?
    if it is cool out side that would help.

Yes with food and water. Then I would do that. They will learn where home is.