Do cockeralls make " bok bok" noises too??? *updated pictures :D*

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by aubreynoramarie, Aug 30, 2010.

1. aubreynoramarie

aubreynoramarie designated lawn flamingo

May 27, 2010
    Reno, Nevada
    Silly question, I know. I'm just incrdibly curious about the strange noises that come from my girls. This is my first time owning chickens, so I am learning as I go... I have four girls ranging from 16 to 20 weeks old. A br, nhr, ee, and silkie. It just seems that especially as of late they make some very odd noises. There's the quiet " eeeeerrrrrrrrr" sound, then there is the really cute coo-ing noise and when I pick them up against their will they all bok bok as loud as they can.
    But this morning I heard the strangest sound of all coming from the pen. It almost sounded like a honking goose! For a second I though," no, that is not a crow! " and I'm still sure it wasn't, but it got me wondering if roosters make any noises besides crows? I'm almost 100 percent sure none of my gals are male, but who knows, haha

Last edited: Sep 1, 2010
  2. GwenDellAnno

GwenDellAnno Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 18, 2009
    Water Valley, AB
    My hens make that noise when they are either ready to or have just laid an egg. Maybe your 20 weeker is getting ready to lay. Is her comb bright red?

My roo will mimic that sound sometimes when the hen really gets going. He makes all sorts of other sounds besides just crowing.

Last edited: Aug 30, 2010
  3. aubreynoramarie

May 27, 2010
    Reno, Nevada