1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Do Dogs and Chickens EVER mix??

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Dagmarvelous, Nov 24, 2009.

1. Dagmarvelous

Dagmarvelous Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm a total newbie. Don't even have the incubator built yet, but am doing all my research first (that's good right?).

We live in suburbia, have a nice sized yard, and have two large, well behaved dogs. Do dogs and chickens ever mix? Will my dogs constantly try to get into the coop? Will they ever all roam free together? And most importantly... what if I miss a dog poop on the grass, will the chickens eat it while free range?

Just want to make a plan before I pull the trigger. Thanks!

2. danielle82

danielle82 A Good Egg

Apr 27, 2009
    Tonasket Wa
    Not Mine

3. Kittymomma

Kittymomma Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 9, 2009
    Olympia, WA
    I'm on 9 acres and my dogs are great with the flock. They ignore the chickens and chase the coyotes, raccoons, etc. That being said, I've seen post after post where people have lost their entire flock to the family dog. Be very, very carefull if you try to have your chickies and dogs together and do not ignore any feeling you get about the dog being "too" interested in the chickens. The best course of action when planning your set up is to assume it needs to be completly predator proof, Including your dog. That way if they do well together great, if not you're already set up for keeping yhem seperate.

4. 1 of my dogs, NO, the other one YES
    I dont have chickens yet but my neighbor does. My hound is basically a protector towards THEIR livestocks (SUCKS HUH?) while my other one, bassette mix, will eat anything that is smaller then her and moves.