Do/don't Double Stack Incubator????

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by newchickens2009, Jan 2, 2010.

1. newchickens2009

newchickens2009 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 18, 2009
    BAHAMAS
    I AM STILL NEW TO INCUBATING AND LOOKING FOR SOME EXPERT ADVICE PLEASE? I WAS JUST IN FL AND BOUGHT SOME HATCHING EGGS FOR ME AND MY SON TO HATCH. TO MY SUPRISE WE GOT SOME FOR CHRISTMAS AND NOW I HAVE 72 EGGS AND AN INCUBATOR (HOVA BATOR STILL AIR) WITH AN AUTO TURNER THAT ONLY HOLDS 42. CAN I DOUBLE STACK THE EGGS ON TOP OF EACHOTHER OR SHOULD I ONLY PUT IN 42 OF THEM? I DON'T WANT TO DOUBLE STACK IF IT WILL RUIN THE HATCH, BUT ALSO DON'T WANT NOT TO IF IT WILL BE OK AND I CAN GET ALOT MORE BABY CHICKS. ANT HELP WILL BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!! THANK YOU AND GOD BLESS!! [​IMG] [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 3, 2010
  2. Apprentice_egger

Apprentice_egger Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 26, 2009
    Morrisville, Vermont
    Can you get ahold of a second incubator? I wouldn't stack eggs.

3. Cindiloohoo

Cindiloohoo Quiet as a Church Mouse

Dec 19, 2009
    Southwest TN
    No stacking. I would candle at 5 days, cull any that show no signs of progress and get as many of the others as I could into the bator. that is only IF you can't find, borrow, or steal(just kidding) another bator from someone!

4. dbcooper02

dbcooper02 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 20, 2007
    SW Washington
    I think that if you are willing to hand turn them you could most likely fit more than 42 in there by leaving out the turner and lying them on their sides. Mark them with an X and an O to keep track of turning and turn them an odd number of times (at least 3) daily.

5. geosheets

geosheets Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 8, 2009
    Ohio