do female chickens crow?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by jcfrontiersman, Jul 5, 2008.

1. jcfrontiersman

jcfrontiersman New Egg

Jul 5, 2008
    I am new to this chicken thing and my black heavies started crowing like a rooster the other day. I am sure they are females they are about 15 weeks old.

2. chickens4jojo

chickens4jojo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2008
    Upstate South Carolina
    Wow! I had a rooster for a while, but he was WAY too noisey for my neighborhood & he had to go..... [​IMG]

But, then one of my hens started doing some very strange "crowing" sounds, too. I think I read that some hens DO start a sort of "crowing" if there is no roo around!

I found it very interesting as perhaps there is something about crowing that is necessary to the whole flock? I really am just quessing though..... [​IMG]

3. cajunlizz

cajunlizz Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2008
    Lafayette, Louisiana
    Quote:Hens CLUCK CLUCK , CLUCK , BUT not CROW ....

Bet they are roosters .....

hens only start clucking when it is approaching time for them to start laying .

Magicbubble likes this.
  4. ticks

ticks Pheasant Obsessed

Apr 1, 2008
    The Sticks, Vermont
    If you put this into the forum titled "chicken behaviors & egg laying" you will get quick good answers. Notify I mod to move this thread for you.
    [​IMG]
    great to have a new chicken enthusiast

5. fowlafoot

fowlafoot Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2008
    Midwest
    Hens can crow, it's not common but some do. It's more likely that it's actually a rooster but if you are really sure they are all hens it's a definate possibility. I've had one do it and she was an adult and laid eggs 4 time a week. Her crow wasn't as impressive as the males it's a little quieter and more strangled sounding.

6. chickens4jojo

chickens4jojo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2008
    Upstate South Carolina
    Quote:Oh yes.... [​IMG]

7. SpottedCrow

SpottedCrow Flock Goddess