Do I have a rooster?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by bleonard7, Jun 28, 2011.

1. bleonard7

bleonard7 New Egg

Jun 17, 2011
    First off I am new to all of this. I recently got into raising chickens. I have what I believe to be 4 females. 1 though is in question. I have 1 Ameraucana that started crowing in the morning 2 weeks ago. Not every morning either, just every now and then. They are only 10wks old now and from what I was told they don't start crowing until 4-5 months of age. I have had a few people tell me to check for a bump on their chest, which she\\he does have, then it's a female. I also read to check for pointy feathers on the back before the tail feathers. This chickens feathers are rounded which I was told means female also. I haven't heard the crowing for a few days until today so it's got me worried again. This chicken is also my shyest one. [​IMG] [​IMG]

It's the white one. I can take better pictures if needed.

2. fshinggrl

fshinggrl Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2009
    the edge of insanity
    Cockerels can start crowing at weeks of age... two sometimes. You do have an EE cockerel. Hatcheries call Easter Eggers - Ameraucanas. I am 100% sure it is a rooster.
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  3. galanie

galanie Treat Dispenser No More

Aug 20, 2010
    Colmesneil,TX
    It's hard to get good pictures because the little buggers never are still but a good head shot would help. The feathers by the tail aren't always pointed, but they do sort of curve down on either side. Neck feathers are more narrow and pointy than on hens. A head shot would help most, to see if the comb and wattles are big. Another indication is if the legs are bigger than the others' legs.

Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  4. schellie69

schellie69 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 8, 2009
    Kansas
    I would say you have a very hansom EE rooster.

5. fshinggrl

fshinggrl Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2009
    the edge of insanity