1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Do I have a rooster?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by ChickenWifey, Mar 26, 2012.

1. ChickenWifey

ChickenWifey Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 26, 2012
    Statesville, NC
    Im very new to having chicks, only had them for 3 weeks now, but they are starting to get big! I cannot have a rooster where I live. How can I tell? I have Wyandottes if that makes a difference. The place we ordered them from only says that there will be 90% hens so we are pretty sure that we have at least one rooster.

How can you "make" a hen? How can they tell at 1 day old that they might be hens? Im sorry im such a newb!!

[​IMG]

2. Bullitt

Bullitt Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 16, 2012
    Texas
    All the hatcheries say they guarantee 90 percent with sexing, because sometimes they make mistakes. I think they just look very closely "under the hood" to see which are boys and which are girls. [​IMG]

It should soon be obvious which are pullets and if any are cockerels.

Cities just do not want roosters crowing, so you don't have to worry about that for a while. You should be able to tell if you have any cockerels soon.

3. fried green eggs

fried green eggs Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 25, 2011
    S.E. Michigan
    [​IMG] from Michigan
    If you have any roosters their comb will start to get kind of red colored and grow larger than hens before long.

4. ChickenWifey

Mar 26, 2012
    Statesville, NC
    Sry, what is a pullet and cockrel, is that hen and rooster?? How long does it take for a rooster to start to crow?

How can they sex the eggs? Im just really curious!

5. ChickenWifey

Mar 26, 2012
    Statesville, NC
    This is what im worried about. There are like 2-3 chicks that are MUCH bigger than the rest.......

6. ScottM