do I help my goslings hatch?

Discussion in 'Geese' started by BeckyBoo, May 16, 2011.

1. BeckyBoo

BeckyBoo Out Of The Brooder

May 16, 2011
    Hi there, I'm brand new on here and I'm brand new to hatching geese!! We keep hens and have hatched chicks with a broody hen before but were given two Toulouse eggs and decided to put them under a broody hen. Well a day and a half ago they started pipping, both have made fairly substantial holes in the shells so you can see the beaks and the curled up chick, they're moving and cheeping, but they don't seem to be making much more progress. I'm getting worried about them getting stuck in their shells and wondered if I should help them along. Everyone I've spoken to says not to and all the books say not to, I read the thread on here about it but how do you know when to try? The shell is SO thick and hard and I'm worried about hurting them. What would you do? We're so excited and we do desperately don't want to lose them - having an egg not hatch is one thing, but when they're so keen to hatch, it would be so sad to lose them now...

BeckyBoo

2. cheyfrie26

cheyfrie26 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 17, 2011
    Ohio
    NO!! DON'T! I have did this before and they died. Believe it or not, if you do, they will most likely be premature. Even though they cracked the egg, they need to break the veins that run inside the egg.

3. okiehollow

okiehollow New Egg

Apr 7, 2011