Do i keep treating sour crop after 3 months, or not?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by marlene, Feb 19, 2012.

1. marlene

marlene Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 17, 2011
    UK
    I have been battling sour crop with a pullet for over 3 months now. At first i tried yogurt, acv in water, softened crumbs, garlic, i carried this diet on for over a month with no change, so i started daktarin gel, which worked while i was giving it but stopped working as soon as i stopped giving it (did the daktarin for 4 weeks).
    I have since been to the vets and he prescribed anti fungal tablets, 1/4 tablet, once a day. They are not making any difference and it has been over a week she has been on these. Her crop is so full even first thing in the morning, it is very large and feels solid from were it is so full of liquid.
    Her meds run out in less than a week and i really do not know how to procceed, my husband say's it's time to cull her! I really do not want to cull but at the same time do not know what else to do for her.
    I just keep hearing how hard it is to get rid of sour crop once they have it, and that some times they loose the battle with it.
    Has anyone else been in this position, and what did you do?
    Has anyone succesfully treated sour crop that has gone on for so long, and if so how?
    I am willing to try anything that might help.

Last edited: Feb 19, 2012
  2. Ldybirdpartridge

Ldybirdpartridge New Egg

Sep 23, 2011
    New Hampshire
    I'm a newbie but just had to cull a hen from impacted/sour crop. The crop had stretched out so much it was no longer working. She had to eat so much to get so little nourishment that it just wouldn't empty completely. Good for you for trying for so long. Hope she gets well. Ours was just do thin we had to consider the long term effects. :(

3. JakRat

JakRat Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2009
    Dover
  4. marlene

Aug 17, 2011
    UK
    How did you know it was time to give up?