Do I need to insulate my coop?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by jakesbigpapa, Mar 2, 2012.

1. jakesbigpapa

jakesbigpapa Out Of The Brooder

Feb 27, 2012
    Ithaca, NY
    Hey....I'm brand new to the backyard chicken game, and I'm getting started on my first coop. I live in the Finger Lakes region of New York, and my question is, do I need to insulate my coop? I know that it's a complete beginner question, but I figure that's why this site is such a great resource. I'm planning on building something similar to the Chicken Paradise coop, tossing in my own flavor and specifications. My flock will be between 6 and 12 birds, beginning with 3 golden comets and 3 speckled sussex, arriving the end of this month.

I'm just kind of confused, because I've checked out TONS of pictures and plans for coops in many different climates, and there doesn't seem to be any consistency regarding insulation. Some do, some don't........help!!!!

2. DCasper

DCasper Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2012
    Benton, KY
    Give me a minute and I will hook you up with a person in your neck of the woods.

3. DCasper

DCasper Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2012
    Benton, KY
    Check out "Greymanes" profile and shoot an email. He will probably know more about your weather and area than anyone else on here.

1 person likes this.
  4. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    No need to insulate or heat your coop. Ventilation is key, you want good air flow. The coop provides wind shelter and protection from predators. We live in northern NH. No heat no problem.

5. jakesbigpapa

Feb 27, 2012
    Ithaca, NY
    Thanks for both of the speedy responses. It's nice hearing from northern New Hampshire, because the climate up there is definitely going to be more severe than our climate here.