1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Do I take the un fertilized eggs out ?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by sharaw20, Sep 21, 2016.

1. sharaw20

sharaw20 Just Hatched

Sep 17, 2016
    So I'm new to this whole broody hen thing. I bought a dozen eggs from a friend. And from what I am seeing only one eggs is good out of what I have left. I should be able to see if there is a chick by now right? I am on day 16. What should I do with the rest of the eggs. Should I just leave them in until the one I know is fertilized hatches. Or what. ? Thanks.

2. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY
    The egg should be pretty full and black by day 16, you can se daily candling pics here: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/...g-candling-pics-progression-though-incubation

I would pull the clears and and quitters.

3. appps

appps Overrun With Chickens

Aug 29, 2012
    Australia
    Yeah I agree, by day 16 there's really very little chance you are mistaking a fertilised egg for a dud. The one good one should look different enough that you could see it's not like the others if they aren't fertile.

I would remove them. My last hatch I had one go rotten and it stunk. As soon as I lifted the lid I knew all was not right it was that strong. I've read of fun (not) experiences of others too where they have gone from there to exploding. You don't want to risk rotten egg getting all over the good one or even worse, having to clean rotten egg out of the incubator [​IMG][​IMG]

4. sharaw20

sharaw20 Just Hatched

Sep 17, 2016